One Giant Leap for team USA

Image

Before running out of outs, Adam Jones and the United States finally broke loose and saved themselves from a humbling loss. Jeez wouldn’t that be embarrassing, I’m ok with losing to Canada in hockey but not in baseball. Now it’s on to Miami for their next big challenge.

In probably the greatest run of stats I’ve seen the US have in the WBC, Jones doubled in the tying and go-ahead runs in the eighth inning, Eric Hosmer hit a three-run double in the ninth and the US scored seven times in the last two innings to beat Canada 9-4 on Sunday. I was off my seat multiple times while watching this game. I even spilt my beer!

”Words can’t describe it,” Hosmer said, recalling how he felt standing on second after his big hit. ”It is hard to hold your emotions right there. It is just an unbelievable feeling and when you hear the crowd chant `USA’ and the other crowd chanting `Canada.’ It is an unbelievable experience.”

I’m just happy that Brandon Phillips feels the same way I do by saying ”It would have been embarrassing,” Brandon Phillips said. ”I would have been embarrassed. USA this is where baseball started and we represent our country. I just feel that if we had lost we didn’t do our job. We have to go out there and try to be the first American team to win the WBC. That is our goal.”

The US trailed 3-2 after seven innings before erupting. Team USA and Italy each went 2-1 and advanced in Group D while Canada and Mexico went 1-2 and were eliminated.

”We believed in ourselves and turned it around,” Phillips said, ”and that is a beautiful thing.”

Canada’s Michael Saunders, of the Seattle Mariners, hit a two-run homer off starter Derek Holland and was chosen the Group D MVP, going 8 for 11 in the tournament with seven RBI.

”It’s an honor,” Saunders said, ”but it’s really kind of a sour taste in my mouth right now.”

The US broke it open off Scott Matheson and closer John Axford in the ninth.

Now I’d like to agree with Phillips and say this was a beautiful thing though I’m feeling this vibe they may be knocked out in the next round. Good luck team USA, and god speed.

Leave a Reply

