Griners Impact on the Sports World

Image

Brittney Griner, Skylar Diggins and Elena Delle Donnehad to go to school with the fear of being picked on and bullied. If those bullies are still out there and can see them now I hope they feel bad. They’re just straw dogs probably at home living in their parents basements. Bullying is an epidemic in schools today and honestly it’s extremely unnecessary. Bullying won’t get you anywhere and in the end you’re the real loser.

The top three picks in the WNBA draft talked to The Associated Press about a variety of topics Wednesday, including how standing out in a crowd wasn’t always easy.

”It was hard. Just being picked on for being different. Just being bigger, my sexuality, everything,” Griner said the 6-foot-8 Baylor basketball player, who acknowledged she is a lesbian. ”I overcame it and got over it. Definitely something that I am very passionate about. I want to work with kids and bring recognition to the problem, especially with the LGBT community.”

When she was asked why there seems to be a difference in male and female athletes coming out as gay, Griner said “I really couldn’t give an answer on why that’s so different. Being one that’s out, it’s just being who you are. Again, like I said, just be who you are. Don’t worry about what other people are going to say, because they’re always going to say something, but, if you’re just true to yourself, let that shine through. Don’t hide who you really are.”

For Griner it wasn’t hard to admit her sexuality as she never hid it to begin with.

“It really wasn’t too difficult, I wouldn’t say I was hiding or anything like that. I’ve always been open about who I am and my sexuality. So, it wasn’t hard at all. If I can show that I’m out and I’m fine and everything’s OK, then hopefully the younger generation will definitely feel the same way.”

Leave a Reply

