Raiders Welcome in Kluwe

Image

The Oakland Raiders truely love having colorful personalities on their roster. They now add another one in 2013, by signing punter Chris Kluwe on Wednesday. The signing will be formally announced on Thursday.

“I’m excited to be an Oakland Raider and be playing in California,” Kluwe, who attended high school in Southern California before going to UCLA, told me on Wednesday. “Now, my family can actually come to games.”

The 31-year-old Kluwe averaged 45.0 yards on 72 punts last season as a Viking. Kluwe is the all-time Vikings leader in average yards per punt (44.4) and second all-time in total punt yards (27,683) and total punts (623). Kluwe is arguably the greatest punter in franchise history.

Which makes me wonder why the Vikings really got rid of him, hmmmmm.

Kluwe is known for his mind and mouth, as well as his leg. He is a vocal advocate of equality in sports (and life), and says he will continue to speak for what he believes.

“I’m still going to be myself socially and continue to tweet and interact with my fans,” Kluwe said.

What do I have to say to that? Good I love it. I enjoy how open Kluwe is with his opinions and I don’t care that he’s just a punter. He’s a player in the NFL so his voice has volume. Besides I like the Raiders too, great addition to the team along with Matt Flynn.

Leave a Reply

