Sanchez “Planning to Start”

Image

There’s nothing to much more difficult than being a New York Jets fan, and I should know because I’m slightly a New York Jets fan…it’s really hard to admit that sometimes. Anyways Jets QB Mark Sanchez is planning to start this season and apparently doesn’t think he’ll find himself on the bench. I have to agree with him, yes Sanchez has had two awful years in a row but the year he went to the playoff he was quite amazing to watch. I think Sanchez has what it takes he just needs to get back in the swing of things.

”I’m planning on playing,” Sanchez said Thursday. ”I’m planning on starting.”

Sanchez, entering his fifth season, knows there’s a long way to go before coach Rex Ryan and offensive coordinator Marty Mornhinweg make the decision on who’s under center in Week 1 when the Jets open against the Tampa Bay Buccaneers. Though since all of the head coaches in the league currently have the ego of I picked him I’m playing him Sanchez should’nt really have anything to worry about. See Tony Romo, Christian Ponder, and Josh Freeman for example.

Since opening his big mouth and throwing something sort of like a tantrum during the NFL Draft, Smith, the former West Virginia star who was the Jets’ second-round pick, has been trying to say all the right things since coming to New York. Even that he’d be OK if he’s the one starting the season with a cap and a clipboard.

”The coaches are going to choose who they feel is best for the team,” Smith said. ”It’s not my job to really worry about that. Like I said, I just go out there and work hard. Whatever it takes to help my team win is what I’m going to do. I’m going to give it my best shot and see what happens from there.”

Image

Ryan and everyone else in the organization will say the same stuff every head coach says when they draft or get a new quarterback and that’s, without question, the quarterback spot, as with most other positions on Jets roster, is up for grabs. It has been repeatedly called an ”open competition,” one in which Sanchez believes he’ll have every opportunity to keep his job.

Sanchez isn’t even slightly worried about losing his position as the starter. He’s even willing to help Geno to prove it.

”If I was insecure about something or couldn’t handle either this market or this pressure or, `Man, I can’t handle this competition,’ maybe I wouldn’t say much to him,” Sanchez said. ”Maybe I’d be a little scared to give him help. But I don’t feel like that. I just don’t, it’s not my personality.”

”I’m confident, I’m ready to go. I can do it. I know I can.”

”I think he’s done a nice job this offseason,” Ryan said. ”I think he’s in great shape. Is he more accurate with the football? I’m not sure what the numbers will say. I really don’t know. But I feel he has a confidence about him.”

Like Alex Smith, quarterback for the Kansas City Chiefs, Mark hasn’t had much luck with offensive coordinators. Sanchez is on his third offensive coordinator in as many seasons, with Mornhinweg following Tony Sparano, who replaced Brian Schottenheimer. But, it’s easy to see that Sanchez clearly enjoys learning from Mornhinweg, who has a long history of working with star quarterbacks such as Steve Young, Jeff Garcia and Michael Vick.

”You should just hear him talk,” Sanchez said. ”Not only is he engaging, but he just has so much knowledge of the subject. He’s like one of those professors in college that you like going to their class, and that was rare.”

It’ll be an interesting season for the Jets, will they come out the same old team or will the enter the league as a force to be reckoned with? I guess we’ll have to wait and see. J-E-T-S! Jets, Jets, Jets, Jets!

Leave a Reply

