3 Of My 4 Favs +1 Fall

inline_557869496001

Last night was not a good night for me and baseball. My four favorite teams are the Indians, Angels, Giants, and Cubs. How I ended up with two in the American league and two in the National league I don’t know. Happy accident! Last night though I called them all wrong and only one of them won.

My Indians I thought would for sure beat the Phillies but lost 6-2.

The Giants I thought could take the Blue Jays but with a too little too late rally by the Giants and going up against Dickey who was pitching a great game they fell 10-6.

The Cubs I had to win over the Rockies haven beaten them 9-1 the night before but flipped it and ended up losing 9-4.

The team that won that I didn’t think would was the Angels, beating the Royals 6-2. I guess homers from Pujols, Kendrick, Hamilton, and Trout will do that for you. This works for me too Because it keeps the Royals from getting closer to catching up to my Indians in their division.

Lastly my +1 I put in here for Ryan because I really think his Brewers, who played a great game, should have had this one but lost to a walk off homer by McCutchen in the 12th against them Pirates.

Some nights just go this way I guess!

Can The Tribe Hold Up?

628x471

Last nights 6-2 loss to the Phillies left the tribe scoring only 3 runs in 26 innings. Not exactly the team we’ve been watching the last few weeks. So what’s the deal? This can get some people quick to ask, Are the tribes bats starting to cool off? Their hitting does come to mind but one thing I’ve noticed over the last few games is how many runners their leaving in scoring position.

I did some homework and went back 10 games to their first game against the As. I know from listening to all the games that this is and has been a problem for them. I’m not real great at stats so i may be off by some but you can still get the gist. In those 10 games they are 7-3 which is good but they are 25 for 62 with runners in scoring position. In the games lost they are 6 for 15 meaning if they would’ve been able to bring them guys home they may have won those games. Looking back into this I also found that they had loaded the bases 6 times and were only able to bring in 5 runs, one of them being walked in.

Now I know there are a lot of factors that can go along with this with how well both teams are doing overall that day. If your up say by 8 runs, the other teams not doing well at all, and you leave 5 guys on you’ll still get the win and it’s not going to matter that you left them on. But more often your not going to have a game go that way it can be a close game and your going to have to concentrate on getting them runners home and if you can’t you’ll start losing games.

I know the tribe has what it takes to lower this number. They’ve more than proved it getting back into it this season They just need to get more consistent with it. It seems like they either go big or nothing and with a lot of their wins solo home runs have played a big part.

In such a close knit division with 4 of the 5 teams at or above the 500 mark, the team under being them White Sox, this is something that if you don’t work at it’ll sink you fast and I don’t want to see the Indians back where they’ve been in the last few seasons battling the Royals for last place.

San Diego Loses OLB to Knee Injury

Image

Chargers outside linebacker Melvin Ingram has torn the anterior cruciate ligament in his left knee, putting his season in jeopardy.

The Chargers announced that Ingram was hurt Tuesday morning during an organized team activity practice. San Diego did not immediately release any other details.

If the ligament is completely torn and surgery is needed, it could sideline Ingram for the entire season.

Ingram was the Chargers’ first-round pick – 18th overall – out of South Carolina in last year’s NFL draft. He started just one game and had one sack, 16 tackles and a forced fumble. He was expected to take on an increased role this season with outside linebackers Antwan Barnes (Jets) and Shaun Phillips (Broncos) signing elsewhere in the offseason.

Things are not looking good for my San Diego Chargers already. Our defense and O-Line were very weak last season and I was hoping to see the changes this season. If the tear is as bad as they’re saying look for some players to be moved around in the backfield. This could be have a huge impact on the Chargers defense this year.

Packers Want to Reunite With Favre

Image

(Photo by Casey Sapio, Chuck Cook-USA TODAY Sports)

It is going to happen eventually and we all know it. Favre can only turn his back to the Packers for so long, they’re the team he started his legacy in and it should be the team he ends it with.

It’s been nearly five long years since the Packers traded the disgruntled Favre to the New York Jets. Now the franchise is getting ready to reach back out to the now-retired quarterback.

“We want to have (Favre) back in the family,” Packers president and CEO Mark Murphy told FOXSportsWisconsin.com during the team’s eighth-annual Tailgate Tour.

The first sign of of the rekindling between Favre and the team he led for 15 seasons came in February, when the 43-year-old and his successor in Green Bay, Aaron Rodgers, presented together during the NFL Honors show.

“I thought he and Aaron jointly presenting the Comeback Player of the Year Award was a great first step,” Murphy said. “We’re hopeful to have (Favre) back in the fold and get him back involved in the organization soon.”

The relationship between Favre and the Packers, as well as between Favre and Rodgers, had been icy until the two former MVPs surprisingly shook hands and laughed together on the stage in February.

“I thought it was good timing to just let the fans know, to let Brett know, let’s move forward,” Rodgers said on his Wisconsin radio show in February. “Let’s heal things up and move forward.”

Murphy, who is hosting the Tailgate Tour for the sixth time, would like Favre to join him someday on the bus that travels throughout Wisconsin making stops at various locations.

“I’d love to see that,” Murphy said. “I think he’d love it and it’d be great for the community.”

The Packers Tailgate Tour features three current players and three retired players. This year, the retired players who made the trip are all former teammates of Favre’s: Frank Winters, Aaron Taylor and Santana Dotson.

It’s time to return home Favre, I forgive you and I’m certain other Packer fans do too. Lets put the past in the past and embrace a future with you as a never forgetable member of the Packer Family.